CCNP - Route: Best Way to Lab?

Kenneth196Kenneth196 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I'm going to start studying for the CCNP Route. I'll mainly use FLG, Chris Bryant vids, and the CCNP Route Lab Manual. Is GNS3 still a valid way to lab (for the Route exam atleast)? I've never used GNS3 before so I'll need to learn how to use it, but just making sure.

Thanks!
"Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day; teach that person to use the Internet and they won't bother you for weeks." - Unknown

Comments

• azaghulazaghul Member Posts: 569 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm using UNL (Unified Networking Lab) as an alternative to GNS3 for ROUTE (think of it as a 3rd party, WebUI, non-subscription version of VIRL). But as with GNS3, you do have to source your own IOS images.
    Seeing that both the OCG and FLG don't come with full configs for their examples/labs, you do learn a lot trying to generate the config yourself based on a topology, some lines of code and show commands (and reading the authors mind for things not written down).
  • negru_tudornegru_tudor Member Posts: 473 ■■■□□□□□□□
    azaghul wrote: »
    I'm using UNL (Unified Networking Lab) as an alternative to GNS3 for ROUTE (think of it as a 3rd party, WebUI, non-subscription version of VIRL). But as with GNS3, you do have to source your own IOS images.
    Seeing that both the OCG and FLG don't come with full configs for their examples/labs, you do learn a lot trying to generate the config yourself based on a topology, some lines of code and show commands (and reading the authors mind for things not written down).

How do you find UNL? Any Pros / Cons compared to GNS3 ? Do you still have to license the IOUs?
    2017-2018 goals:
    [X] CIPTV2 300-075
    [ ] SIP School SSCA
    [X] CCNP Switch 300-115 [X] CCNP Route 300-101 [X] CCNP Tshoot 300-135
    [ ] LPIC1-101 [ ] LPIC1-102 (wishful thinking)
  • azaghulazaghul Member Posts: 569 ■■■■□□□□□□