Options

When to take study breaks???

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

Im studying for the CCENT at the minute, after about a week or 2 of studying I always find myself hitting a dead end, and by that I mean I get fed up of studying and then quit/give up.

I try to study at least 2 hours during the weekdays and 3-4 or on weekends whilst working a 5 day week(I know this inst a lot of time compared to others).

After a while I get fed up of studying and want to stop.

What do you guys recommend to resolve this? should I take day breaks where I skip a day of studying? study less?

I want to get my CCNA, CCNP then CCIE however I am only at the early stages of the cert track and am having commitment issues, I think I might be burning myself out.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks
Pujan
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790
    Whenever you catch yourself rewriting whole paragraphs from your book in your notes, it's time to take a break.
    You hitting a wall in your studies means there's an issue or host of issues there that you are not clear with and you need to identify those issues. Once you do, focus on those issues and don't move on until you get them resolved.
    This cert has a lot of jargon and I think that's the biggest hurdle for those of us already clear with networking basics.
    Someone at work mumbled that we'll all be required to get CCNA certified, so I might take on this exam.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    2 hours straight without a break or 2 (or 5) in there? No way, unless I'm labbing or playing with some equipment while studying. No way I could study for 2 hours straight, let alone 3-4. I usually don't study much on the weekends either...
  • Options
    yparkypark Member Posts: 120 ■■■□□□□□□□