Just passed Linux+ LX0-104 Exam!

NerdITNerdIT Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all, Passed LX0-104 with a 750/500 ! Was very satisfying! Although it was not my first attempt...:

Quick bio: I graduated with two A.A.S degrees in Networking Technology and also, Information Systems Security in May of last year (2015). Since then I have obtained my Network+, Security+, and as of today - Linux+ certified.

Ok, so I passed the first exam (LX0-103) about 2 months ago. It was fairly hard -scored a 570, passing is 500. There are a lot of very long/obscure command parameters in the questions that are hard to remember. If I had had a console to be able to do a quick $command --help I would have scored higher.

I had the LX0-104 scheduled for 2 days after - I failed it! 485/500. Lame.

Rescheduled for a week later - failed again! 490/500. icon_sad.gif

So I decided I needed to supplement/change/revise my study plan and materials. I purchased CompTIA Certmaster -as I used it for Net+ and Sec+ - and it was really helpful. ( It was not available when I attempted the first two attempts -it is brand new.) And also CBT Nuggets videos.

I passed today with a 750! I almost aced it.! Here is what I learned and what I did to prepare:
Firstly, I must say that the book I started with (Sybex Study Guide, Third Edition) is NOT enough on its own. The main problem with this book is that a lot of the topics that they state you just need a "general understanding of" or "know it exists" - you really need to actually understand them IN FULL!. I had a Centos7 VM and a Debian VM and practiced everything in detail. I coupled that with Certmaster along with CBT Nuggets (2015 by Shawn Powers).

The CBT Nuggets were very valuable. I then used the objectives as a checklist and practiced everything on there until I understood it. I highly suggest doing everything from the command line (unless it pertains to the GUI/Display Manager stuff.