Should I go for CCIE R/S or CCIE Security?

midsummermidsummer Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am very interested of obtaining a CCIE but I am not sure of which track I should follow.
As far as experience goes, I have worked as a network engineer for 6 years, I currently have a CCNP R/S and I got all the material I need to study for the CCIE R/S.

I do however feel that I would like to expand my knowledge into another domain and Security is the one that interesting me the most.

Would it be stupid of me to change tracks (this means I'll have to start from CCNA Security) and is it more wise to stick to R/S?
I have no real experience in security but I have always worked with ASAs in every job i have.

Its a coinflip decision for me but I really need your advice so I dont find 6 months down the road that I made the wrong decision.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi,

Jus to throw it out there but you don't technically need to start from CCNA Security into 4 CCNP Security exams. You still have to learn it all anyway but you don't need to do the 5 exams if CCIE Security is the end goal.

How's your budget for it? Because there is this Zero-to-Hero Security course through Micronics Training that has gotten a lot of great reviews from people on the site. Iristheangel has/had a thread dedicated to it. Check it out!
  • midsummermidsummer Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    koz24 wrote: »
    Hi,

Jus to throw it out there but you don't technically need to start from CCNA Security into 4 CCNP Security exams. You still have to learn it all anyway but you don't need to do the 5 exams if CCIE Security is the end goal.

How's your budget for it? Because there is this Zero-to-Hero Security course through Micronics Training that has gotten a lot of great reviews from people on the site. Iristheangel has/had a thread dedicated to it. Check it out!

Thanks,