Options

A bunch of Cisco stuff from work.

GmvProjectGmvProject Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm starting my journey to get my ICND1 and I'm in the process of planning on building my own lab.

We got some Cisco equipment at work that are not currently being utilized; I don't know if they have any value for I don't have any idea what they are icon_redface.gif I'm a total noob when it comes to networking and I'm hoping you guys can help me if I can use these guys for my CCENT lab.

My original plan was to save up and get 2x 2600 series routers and 2 3350 switches from ebay, but it would be awesome if I can use/integrate these guys for my lab too.

If I'm not mistaken I have a router and 2 switches + an ASA.

Cisco ASA 5505
Cisco 3725
Catalyst 3500 series XL
Catalyst 3750-E series

Are these guys okay to use for my lab? Any tips on how to best approach my current situation? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I like home labs because I like the hands on experience. However they are not required to get started.

If your company lets you take them home then plug them in and start poking around. You can find free labs online pretty easy to get started.

After you have started to learn you will get a better idea of what to add.

Good Luck!
  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    the 3725 can be thought of as a 2600 with more expandability. So, that will work for one of your routers.
    3500 is just crap. Get rid of it.
    The 3750-E is a big upgrade over the 3550. Shouldn't be in a lab as it is too good for that. Be happy you get to use it.
    the asa is a good find also. will be useful when doing security stuff as it is a firewall.

You have a start for you lab. Keep an eye out for more.
    And good luck with your studies
  • Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□