Looking to Break Into IT - Urgently need Help !

thelazyporterthelazyporter Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I am a career changer (not based in the U.S.) but have applied to U.S. Grad Schools for a Masters in Information Systems this Spring.

I have zero IT experience, have 3-4 years exp in Corp Sales and have started studying for my first Cert (Comp TIA A+). I'm in the middle of a period where if i do get accepted, I could be on my way in 2 months, hence I've been advised to rather use these 2 months to focus on my CERTS and try for an internship (Post Certs and with a longer time to work).

Future Plan : To Land a H1B Job in the U.S.A in IT (I'm guessing this will be an entry level job)

Current Plan : Aim to complete the Comp TIA Triad (A+,Sec+ & Network+) as soon as possible. Then proceed with CCNA and CISSP post gaining some real experience in the form of Internships.

Do I have a shot at achieving my dreams and landing a job, despite no work ex ? What would you advise, for a newbie like me ?

Comments

• koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sure, if you are motivated you can do it. Sounds like a good plan but I'm not sure on the CISSP. Maybe some of the CISSPs here can help but I don't know if internships count towards the security experience requirement of the cert.
  • thelazyporterthelazyporter Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks ! I'll look into it...
  • soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    CISSP requires 5 years of full time paid work experience so maybe revisit that goal in a couple of years and see where you're at.

I like that you're focusing on the CompTIA certs to build a foundation. Those should help prepare you for the Masters program.

It's a long journey, make smaller (quicker and easier to achieve) goals to help get you where you want to be.
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
    Thanks a tonne ! I will :)
  • kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□