Options

Resume Advice

jscot002jscot002 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I have no IT experience at all, however, I've been studying for certs on my free time. I don't start WGU until February. Just checking to see what I can do different to get my name out there because I haven't been able to find a job yet and I've been looking for almost a month now. I will have the Security+ very soon so that would give me A+,N+, and S+. Not sure what I will go for after that. Any advice will be very appreciated.

Career Objective
Seeking an IT network analyst and help desk role or something similar while I am finishing up my Bachelors for Network Administrator from WGU. I am looking to find a full time job in a relevant field as soon as possible to collect experience for when I graduate.

Education
Western Governors University
Bachelor of Science Information Systems – Security, Planned Fall 2017
Major: IT Security

Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
Major: Supply Chain Management Minor: Business Analytics

Work History
01/2016 to Current
T. Parker Host Terminals – Chesapeake, VA
- SCADA Technician
- Stevedore
- Operator

01/2008 to Current
Atlantic Custom Services – Smithfield, VA
- Website Developer
- Carpenter
- Material/Inventory handler

01/2009 to 01/2010
Northrop Grumman – Newport News, VA
- Rigger
- Crane Operator
- Laborer

Certificates
CompTIA A+
CompTIA N+
Currently studying for Security+/CCNA

Awards/Achievements
Best crane crew 2009 by Northrop Grumman.
Successfully built three desktop computers from scratch.

Comments

• Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Your best bet is to start with internships since you already have the A+ and N+. May not like the pay but it's better than nothing and it will give your resume some much needed experience.