Acquired CompTia Linux+

hal9k2hal9k2 Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi just want to share with you all that I passed both exams required for CompTia Linux+ and what materials I used to learn.

Before I started I had not prior commercial exposure for Linux, just some experience playing around time to time by self.

I started learning at beginning of September, and after a month passed LXO-103, then after next month of learning passed LXO-104.

Materials I used:

1 Pruralsight courses for Linux+ preparation by Andrew Mallet
2 CBT Nuggets video course for Linux+ ( I bought as they have access to transcend test exams, but these exams were outdated icon_sad.gif )
3 ebook CompTIA Linux + / LPIC-1 Cert Guide by Ross Brunson and Sean Walberg
4 CompTIA CerMaster - web-based test prep, got it together in a bundle with exam voucher and retake voucher
5 Virtual box with several different distros
6 Google and this forum

Some info about materials. Video courses are just to get a very brief overview of given topic, you won't learn just from them without playing inside VMs and reading mentioned ebook. Yes, the ebook... was much deeper into topics and exactly about exam objectives. I highly recommend it especially comparing to the prices of video courses...

Regarding CertMaster tests and super learning experience as they claim.. For me, it's a garbage. You have only one type of questions not like on real exams or with testing software provided with the ebook. I had a feeling that questions are about everything but not about exam objectives while doing it... Don't waste money on it, unless you bought it in a bundle with exam vouchers.

So to sum up. Get the ebook/book, play a lot inside Linux VM's, if you have extra $$ to spend get some video courses but don't overestimate them. Most important review exam objectives and prepare for it.

Next plans not sure yet if go for CompTIA Sec+ or maybe straight to OSCP

Any questions happy to answer.

Comments