Options

Cisco CCENT Study Materials/Books/Videos?

TLITDLeTLITDLe Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good afternoon all,

So after countless hours of studying, today I passed my CompTIA A+ (201-901/902)! My next plan is to study and test for the Cisco CCENT 100-105 ICND1 certification. I am currently a help desk technician for a managed service provider so I do get a sense of what is coming but do not have any knowledge of Cisco products (besides very basic utilization of Cisco Meraki firewall).

What study materials are popular that will help me through success? Exam Cram? Do I need to purchase any particular products to practice with? Sorry if this is vague, I just don't know where to start!

Thank you for all your incoming suggestions,

David

Comments

• Options
    I forgot to add. I have 1 year of help desk experience.
  • Options
    CertifiedMonkeyCertifiedMonkey Member Posts: 172 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Books
    Odom - Really good, but can be dry (I used this as my primary resource)
    Lammle - Easy to read, might not be as in-depth as Odom (Didn't use it as much as Odom)

If you really want to dig DEEP into the material:
    Introduction to Networks v5.1 Companion Guide
    Routing and Switching Essentials v6.0 Companion Guide

Note:
    All of the books listed can be found on Safaribooksonline (~$39/month subscription)

Videos
    Kevin Wallace 100-105 on Safaribooksonline.com
    INE 100-105 Videos (~$50)

Labs
    Packet Tracer (free download on NetAcad)
    Boson NetSim ($99)

Exams
    PeasonITCertification 100-105 Exam (Included w/ physical book or you can buy the PDF version of the book as well)
    Boson Exsim ($99)

I'm sure alot of the stuff can be found on Google/Youtube as well, but you'd have to piece together the material yourself.
  • Options
    rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
    I've been quite amazed by the stuff you can get without spending any money at all.

This is a good place to start Free Cisco CCNA and CCNP study guides