Options

Help with Certification Direction

superbeastsuperbeast Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

Thank you for taking time to read my post and any advice/comments.

I am kind of stuck as to a direction where to begin. I'm fairly new to IT industry, my first IT job which I am in now involves IT support for online database system(SQL server). I'm in a level 1 role where I handle IT tickets for customers and forward escalation to next level team(programmers/developers). The company is small so there is not much room for growth(without relocating across the country and become a programmer/developer). With this being my first IT job, I want to gain as much experience as I can to build on my resume and put in enough time to make an impact for my next job.

However my ultimate goal/education is focused more on networking/security. I've completed my associates and will begin my baccalaureate studies in Fall of 2017. Degree would be BS in Information Systems & Technology with concentration in Cyber Security and Intelligence.

I'm stuck in the sense where I want to gain as much experience where I am at but that would limit me to database management. I can get certified in SQL that will have a positive impact on my role with my current employer but don't see it adding much value on where I ultimately want to end up. I know I don't have the experience/certs to go for a security job right now and I've tried to do self study for certs but it stretches me thin with my schooling and home life(wife+2 kids)

Is there anyone else in a similar situation or have been in a situation that can offer some advice? Is it better to focus on the now and go for SQL cert and make the best of where I am at currently while I finish my schooling? Or focus on security side of things now and try to use sec+ to get into a security type of job?

Comments

• Options
    ming746ming746 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□