Options

Requesting Certifications Advice

S7NasirS7Nasir Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I'm currently a student at George Mason University (Virginia) majoring in IT - and graduating May 2017. I've started working as a NOC Support technician almost two months ago and am looking to pursue a position that isn't as passive and involves more work during the work-hours. I would prefer going down the IT Management position but am not sure if there are any certifications ideal for someone with little experience or entry/junior-level.

Can anyone suggest some management-related certifications that could be of use to me in getting a solid job post-graduation?
Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ITIL is a service management certification, a lot of companies require or prefer their managers have. Might be something to look into.

I think you would best be served reading books on soft skills and presentations. Those skills reign supreme in the management world.
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    CISM and CISA are geared towards managers but you will need experience for those. Start with ITIL as mentioned already.
  • Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Before you jump ahead of yourself with the IT mgmt stuff, start thinking about what you like first. Develop a core background in IT, whether it be as a network admin, sys admin, or something else. Do you like the networking side, or maybe want to start within Windows administration? Looks like your degree path wasn't focused in a specific area, but more a broad one...which is ok. You may want to look at getting into a Tech Support spot if you are really bored at your current job.