Options

Exploring End Goals of IT Degrees

sensitivestoicsensitivestoic Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Quick backstory: I have more than 6 years of experience in the field of information technology and a couple of CompTIA certifications. I work as a senior helpdesk manager and technical project lead for a biometrics company. I want to ground my academic background more firmly in the field of IT. My bachelors degree is in psychology and philosophy. I want to pursue a master's degree in information technology, but am at a loss as to how I can best explore or prepare for which positions are right for me. Does anyone have any resources that they recommend for getting a more holistic picture or feel about the merits of various IT roles? For example, I have found my strengths tend to align with leadership, management, or research positions. As a result I am more inclined to aim for a masters degree such as the M.S. Information Technology Management degree from WGU (many in these forums seem to advocate that institution). Any thoughts or recommended paths? Many thanks.
Certs Achieved: CompTIA A+ | Net+ | Sec+ | Project+ | MCSA Windows 10
Currently Studying:
  MCSE Server 2016
Future Goals: CAPM/PMP

Comments

• Options
    powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You're already in a managerial role... maybe look at an MBA w/ a concentration in Information Systems. You will go the grad school equivalent courses of an undergrad Information Systems degree.
    2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
    2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro
  • Options
    sensitivestoicsensitivestoic Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
    powerfool wrote: »
    You're already in a managerial role... maybe look at an MBA w/ a concentration in Information Systems. You will go the grad school equivalent courses of an undergrad Information Systems degree.