Options

Internship search.

lumenitelumenite Member Posts: 15 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hope everyone is having a blessed day. I dont know if this is the right place to post this but I'm hoping to get some kind of help/Guidance from the experienced professionals here. I am a graduate student residing Georgia, I am currently seeking an Internship position in the tech field. My interests are in security and networking but I am Pretty much opened to other career fields. Currently pursuing the ejpt certification from elearn security. I am also opened to relocating if needed. Cheers..!!

Comments

• Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Need a little more info from you on your background and what your degree is in. Sounds like you went from your Bachelor's right into an MS program. Also, what is your undergrad degree in?
  • Options
    @Kiki162 Yes, You are right, Straight from Bachelors to Ms. I had an undergraduate degree in accounting. I Interned at a local CPA firm but didn't enjoy doing the Tax/audit work at all. Majoring in Information technology/systems has always been my choice in college, but I took my Parent's advice decided to pick Accounting instead of IT which I was very passionate about.
  • Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Accounting and auditing go together well. Take a look at ISACA website. You may not have enough experience under your belt yet, but if you take a look at a job search looking for CPA's with CISA or CISM certifications, you'll find a number of positions will pop up.

Again, I'm not sure what you are doing for your masters program (assuming accounting), but depending on how far you are into the program and whether you parents are supporting your tuition, you may want to look at getting a 2nd degree. Show them the correlation between accounting and auditing (or something along those lines) and make you case to them.