How to get here?

MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
Every now and then, I check the job boards to see what's out there. I have a good job, so I'm not actively applying for anything. I am trying to transition more into security. Part of my job includes network security (firewalls, nessus scans), but I came across this posting and thought, sounds interesting.....I started to wonder, what's the best way to get the knowledge for this type of position.
I'm studying for CISSP now (early stages), and even though it's listed in the job req, it's not going to help get the technical skills necessary

Is this something that I would want to invest in training from SANS for? Just curious

JOB SUMMARY:
The Senior Cybersecurity Engineer assists in deploying, maintaining, tuning, monitoring, and managing security tools related to the Realogy SOC. Senior Cybersecurity Engineer will function as a Level 2/Level 3 analyst, and act as a mentor to other members of the team. Senior Cybersecurity Engineer will review alerts from Level 1 analysts and Realogy network security devices, security information and event management (SIEM), and other tools as needed. Senior Cybersecurity Engineer works with other analysts to collect, correlate, and analyze security-relevant data, and respond to threats in a timely manner. This position reports to the SOC Director.

ESSENTIAL DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES:
  • Monitor and respond to security events escalated by Level 1 security analysts and respond appropriately to protect Realogy information and assets
  • Utilize endpoint products such as Carbon Black to identify malicious activity on the network
  • Review daily and weekly reports generated by Level 1 security analysts for actionable tasks for the SOC team
  • Collaborate with the Cyber Threat Intel Analyst (CTIA) to ensure appropriate security incident management and threat response processes are followed