Business Analysis certifications, anyone?

I'm currently studying the AgilePM certification, and it has a related AgileBA certification, since both roles are integral to DSDM (the framework AgilePM is based on).

And then I recalled another Business Analysis certification I came across: BAIQ. And one thing lead to another.

So a brief list:

AgileBA Certification | APMG-International
Certifications | Business Analysis International Qualifications | BAIQ.ORG
Business analysis | Certifications | BCS Certifications
Certification & Recognition - IIBA | International Institute of Business Analysis
https://www.pmi.org/certifications/types/business-analysis-pba
2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM

Comments

• mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Octal
    I conducted minor research on BA certifications but did not find any job listings in my area requiring any of them. I know I can't speak for other countries but I find that if it is not requested and if someone WANTS to do one, I figure the PMI cert would never hurt.

Love to hear your thoughts
    Thanks for posting
    Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
    Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I did some research as well, the posting were looking for skills and experiences not certificates. Truth be told (at least from my perspective), you would best be served getting experience with UML and business process modeling. That IMO would be your best bet if you want to focus on requirements and that type of BA role. The certifications are a waste from my view.

If you are looking to get into the technical side, HADOOP, MapReduce, even some of the dashboarding tools would be your best bet. Obviously some SQL would be good and even some scripting languages can be VERY benefical if you want to be more than a technical admin.