Options

Where should I go next?

TmaiorcaTmaiorca Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

Been sorta a lurker here so forgive me for posting very rarely. A little background before we get into the question:

I've just completed my first year as a Junior Sys Admin in a government municipality. Right out of college with an Associates, I was offered a job besides the IT director to serve as sort of "help desk". The term "help desk" is a little misleading....more over a system administrator role. I mainly deal with managing a network of around ~150 employees. This includes server management, network infrastructure, and general hardware / software inquiries. On the server side as a domain admin, I touch Active Directory, DNS, and DHCP. Network infrastructure is router / switch configurations and role outs while monitoring network traffic through firewall and web filters. We also have a backup server in place that I like to get my hands on. Day to day stuff includes file servers, permissions across shares, unblocking websites, etc etc.

On the flip, my boss and I also do pretty much everything electrical. Installing camera system in police vehicles? Providing assistance and configurations for all the in-car MDT's and police network? Check. Installing the hardware and configuring the software for the trucks salt spreaders? Check. The door system around the building and administrating new keys? Check. Oh, and the audio/video broadcast equipment that works out public meetings and local PEG channels to our town, Check.