Options

33 - Really Need Career Advice

age33johnny@gmail.comage33johnny@gmail.com Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All:

I'm 33 years old thinking of entering IT field for good, security to be specific first choice, web development as 2nd choice. I have a bachelor degree in Business from U of P (University of Phoenix), not the greatest school but nevertheless it's a degree. I don't have any IT certification.

About five years ago I worked for a hosting company doing tech support level 1 and 2 and was pretty good at it but it was low wage dead end job so I quit when I couldn't find a opportunity to move within the company or more up (did it for 2 years). From there i went into restaurant industry ending up becoming a district manager. I would also occasionally resolve any IT issues restaurant might have. For instance, installing new POS terminal, router, setting up a network or pulling cable, installing camera system etc...

Anyhow, five years into my career in restaurant business I want out. It's time that I move on and do something better for myself and food business is not want I want to be doing rest of my life.

With that said, I'm pretty okay when it comes to IT at very basic level. I know how to troubleshoot windows, build web site (less complicated), basic level of networking and troubleshooting.

I don't want to go back to tech support - no desire at all to do desktop support. :) Would luv to work hard and start making real money.

What would be the best way to break into IT security ? Should I start working on my certification or go for another bachelor degree? Two schools i have looked into are Northeastern University Boston (Information System) or WGU BS In IT security, either of this will take be less than 2 years to complete as I already hold BS in Business Management.