Options

Need Assistance and Opinions to Get Back Into IT

Sparko11117Sparko11117 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently in my early 40's. I am employed but looking to get back into the IT industry, specifically a traditional network admin role. Currently, I am an instrumentation and electronic technician in the oil
& gas industry. I have done this for 7 years. For personal reasons I want to get back into IT. To make this easy, I'm going to give a little synopsis of my IT history:

1992-1999: U.S. Navy Information Systems and Crytology- Done everything from installing and troubleshooting LAN/WAN to install of SATCOM, multiplexers, running cable, blah blah blah

1999-2000: NOC (Access)- Troubleshot from CPE to Telco LEC. Configured CSU/DSU's, Nortel DPN-100 switches and all other equipment in between.

2000-2001: NOC (Backbone)- Monitored and troubleshot T-1s,T-3s,Nortel Passport switch, & Frame Relay network

2001-2002: Promoted to Tier II Tech Support- Verified and modified switch configurations and network topology

2002-2003: Contract System Administrator

2003-2010: LAW ENFORCEMENT

2010-2017: Instrumentation and Electronics

As you can see I do have experience. I've pretty much tried to keep up with technology. I obtained by CCNA in 2001 and let it expire in 2004. I have since recertified on CCNA R/S version 3.0 and SEC+. Here are my questions:

QUESTION #1
Is my prior experience relevant and should I consider myself to have 1-3 years experience or am I now a ROOKIE all over again due to gap?

QUESTION #2
I really do want to start on my CCNP but not if I need to be looking for entry level work that's not a problem. TBH, I am totally down with entry level work, but I'm not getting any calls for NOC jobs or anything. I just don't want to sit idle while waiting. I can either go with CCNP (which is what I desire) or go CCNA-SEC route.

Alright let them answers fly!!!!

Tks

Comments

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■