Options

Hard work pays off.

Mike RMike R Member Posts: 148 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've been a member here for about 2 years now. I use to manage 2 businesses that my father owned, I took over after his unexpected death. They were agriculture based a huge amount of work to keep going but I kept them profitable. Well a year ago we decided that we wanted to move on and so we sold those two businesses.

Through shear luck I met two network engineers while trying to diagnose why my internet connection was terrible. Self taught myself how a network works,DSLAMs and routers and in the end finally resolved my problems with the ISP connection. I looked into a lot of different professions to go into but I went with IT because I could see the longevity in it and it's something I could eventually hopefully support my family long term so my mother could retire.

A friend of the family where we moved has a small MSP shop and he took me on back in May of last year. I didn't know a huge amount, I had an A+ and was working on the CCENT (still am). It was/is a struggle to go into a totally new occupation and many times I wondered if I made the right choice. One thing I've always been good at though is customer service since I grew up handling customers.

Well a couple months ago my boss said I should look elsewhere because things looked bleak so I did. Meanwhile I headed up 3 projects and completed them on time and according to him I did great work. This morning he called me and said he couldn't see running his company without me and gave me a 65% raise (I was making 24k no benefits). He told me what he loved was that he didn't have to babysit me on projects and that the clients loved working with me.