Should I go for CASP

bamahonkybamahonky Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
First off, I kinda understand the reasoning for CASP. It is mainly geared for DOD. I am in the guard but I also work full time in IT with a bit of infosec in the civilian world. I have A+, Sec+, CCNA R&S, and C|EH. My current employer really likes the fact that I go above and beyond on self study and going for certs. I almost have my supervisor talked into paying for a week long bootcamp for CASP. Is this something I should go for? I have been studying for this cert on and off for about six months. I have the CompTIA book and have been watching the Skillport videos. I figure this will be a good one to go after before tackle OSCP and then later CISSP.

Thoughts? My only out of pocket expense will be travel about an hour and a half each day to the bootcamp for a week.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Sounds like a pretty low cost to me...why not. Just be warned though...CASP will not prepare you for OSCP though so if you want to go the pentest route....I would convince them to pay for GPEN with SANS training instead.
  • swampratswamprat Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If work is willing to apy for it, definitely do it.

I don't think any IT professional can ever go wrong learning more security. Every breach, hack, etc you read about in the news has some component of someone failing at security. Improving your security skills and knowledge can only be good (particularly if someone else is paying for it). :)
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722