Options

Promotion or new job with security path?

fabostrongfabostrong Member Posts: 215 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently a level 1 technician for a managed services company. I'm a domain administrator for each one of our 400 clients. I'm allowed to fix pretty much whatever the problem is if I know how to confidently do it. I've been there 7 months and they want to start training me for a promotion into professional services. I'll be making at least $50K.
It's a great company and work environment.

When I first got into IT about a year ago, security was where I wanted to go. There's pretty much no entry level security roles. I was offered a new job by a company that's moving to Houston from Chicago. They do managed services and security for financial firms only. So it's a bit more specialized. It's also a bit smaller than my company. They're offering me level 1.5 position with a direct path into security. $44K for the first 3 months and then a raise to 50K. The Houston office will be me, another tech, and the CEO of the company until they move the entire company to Houston. I interview with the CEO and he really wants me to come aboard. The interview we had went really well.

I'm not sure if I should play it safe and stay where I'm at or move to the new company and finally get into the security field like I've been wanting. It's a bit of a leap of faith whenever you move to a new position and they're promising you ****.

If you've read this far, thanks and what do you think I should do?

Comments

• Options
    RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Go with the Security Analyst position at Alertlogic.

Get your certs quickly.
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□