Options

Passed CEHv9 yesterday

TreySongTreySong Member Posts: 65 ■■■□□□□□□□
I sat for and passed the CEHv9 examination last night. I paid for and made use of the EC Council iLabs. It cost me about £1,500. I also had access to their online Video tutorials. I also read the two main books on CEH . I had wanted to start studying since last November after I paid for access to the lab. But I did not start studying until February. The exam itself was a bit difficult from my perspective as it was the first exam I took and I did not know for certain if I was going to pass until I saw the results. My take is that it is due to the width and breadth of the questions I encountered. I have more than ten years experience in Technology Risk and Cyber Security. I have all of the ISACA qualifications and I also have the CISSP from ISC2 and yet this was a bit difficult. My take is that you really need to spend some significant amount of time understanding each of the tools and what they do. You also need to understand the different malware and how they propagate. Most importantly, pay attention to how some of the key tools are used and the syntax for the related command shells.
The books I read were:
1. CEH ALL in One by Matt Walker. I started dreading the book early November but gave up after a few days as I felt the guy was being cavalier and unserious. So I went and read the Sybex CEHv9 Study Guide by Sean - Philip Oriyano. Sean-Philip is dry and doe snot provide context. It was a hard reading. But after I completed reading it, I went back to Matt Walker and really did enjoy reading his book once I forgot the cavalier attitude. In hindsight, I should have read him completely the first time. But his book is superb. On the day of the exam I went through two of the Practise Tests in the Sybex published "CEHv9 Practice tests" by Raymond Blackmon. Don't underestimate the importance of that book as it highlighted areas I needed to pay attention to. very useful.