Options

Looking for cyber security internships.

Hi guys,

I had a question about looking for internships in cyber security. I recently got my security+, and I was hoping that I would be able to find an internship in cyber security/information protection. I'm a Junior in an MIS bachelors degree program. I have about 2 years of work experience in a semi-technical capacity (repairing laptops, working the phones, doing lectures, etc.), and a competitive gpa.

My big problem right now is two fold-

1. Most of the internships for this summer have already had their application windows close.

2. I have basically no connections.

Luckily, I already have an internship lined up with an insurance company for the summer, but they might not be able to give me a security role. They've said its a possibility. I'll probably get stuck doing project analyst, something I don't want to do anymore and I feel would run counter-intuitive to the hard work I've poured into getting the certs I have now.

I'm willing to literally move to anywhere in the country to get something that will advance my career. What would be a good place to look right now? Do you guys have any advice?

Thanks.
"The winner takes it all"

Comments

• Options
    adam220891adam220891 Member Posts: 164 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I don't understand this trend where people want to start in security. No offense but you need to be in the trenches for a bit and learn some networking before you can add value in a security role.

When you say cyber security, what do you mean? I think of SIEMs and staring at logs all day. Maybe you think of firewall rules and IDS/IPS. The former sounds awful to me.

Anything is possible but you may want to consider a different career path/route.
  • Options
    jcundiffjcundiff Member Posts: 486 ■■■■□□□□□□
    sent you a PM
    "Hard Work Beats Talent When Talent Doesn't Work Hard" - Tim Notke
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□