Options

Does volunteer Experience at a reputable organization count as real exp?

TheNullVoidTheNullVoid Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been accepted to volunteer at a reputable non-profit in the Denver area on the weekends as an IT tech.. I am shocked for a few reasons. I was told by a few here that it's competitive to volunteer. Plus, I am studying for my certs on my own. For this reason, I was surprised they accepted me. They did a few phone interviews and accepted me.

I will admit my social skills(despite being an aspie) are decent if not a little above average. I sit for the 902 next week. Afterwards, I will be going for the MCP.

Will 6-8 months of volunteering doing ACTUAL IT related work count as work experience? This is not through a community college or anything. I am doing my certs on my own too. I plan to look into hospital based jobs as a desktop support analyst.

Longterm. I plan to get a bachelors. I will not attempt that until I get my first PAID IT job though...

Comments

• Options
    I think my other account is TheNullVoid12. I am the same guy...
  • Options
    Another question.

Two people apply for an entry level postion. Both people have no experience and required certs. The job doesn't require a Bachelors degree.

However, one got the certs on his own and got experience via volunteering. That same person has a worthless AA from a community college. The other went to the same community college but went through a two year technical community college program and got his experience in the classroom.

Would each candidate have an equal shot at a Desktop Analyst Position that required an MCP/A+
  • Options
    kalimusclekalimuscle Member Posts: 100
    Ofcourse it counts as experience.

I did it earlier on in my career.

Who knows they might hire you full time paid

If not

Also you could use this experience to get hired else where.

I am a aspie too and its shocking i was doing what you doing excatly what you were doing 7 years ago.