Options

Lost on career choices

mnashemnashe Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
I made this post, because lately I've been feeling like I made a career mistake.

So I've been in IT for many years. Up until 1 year ago, I was a systems administrator handling everything from virtualization, windows administration, messaging, backups, AD. I worked on a two man server team, my co-worker handled linux, sharepoint, sql. I handled everything else. 1 year ago, I decided to take a network admin role because I studied for cisco certs and always wanted to try it. It's cool, I like it but not sure I'd want to do this at another company, and I kind of miss working as a systems guy. One of the driving factors for going networking was thinking I could earn more money. I'm currently making a little more 105k (prior to switching positions). I thought about going security route, but I think that's based more on money than interest.

I'm thinking about maybe switching back to being a systems side or something similar. Not sure what to focus on, or what knew skills to get. Money wise, it would be great to get to 125-140K, just not sure that's possible on the systems side.

These are things I'm pondering, just not sure what's the best plans

1) get my VCP back. I let it expire. I would have take the What's New course ($1650) or learn NSX and get VCP-NV first, then I can get my VCP-DCV

2) Learn Linux

3) Learn AWS (and other cloud technologies, azure maybe). I'm not a developer though, seems like cloud jobs are for developers

4) Go Cisco Data Center route

Anyone have any advice? TIA

Comments

• Options
    GSXR750K2GSXR750K2 Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□