Options

Career choice advice in network engineering

Sharad9Sharad9 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I'm 29 yrs old and trying to get into network security. I have a bachelor's in something completely unrelated to IT. However, I have been working with a hardware company for about 4 yrs. I basically go into schools or businesses and replace or repair ma chines (motherboards, power supplies, etc).
I have recently been studying to take the ccna by reading books and watching YouTube videos. Am I too old to get into this field to make a career out of it? Have I missed the boat?

Comments

• Options
    Mike RMike R Member Posts: 148 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Nope I'm 31 don't have a BS and made the career change a year ago. Your never to old for IT as long as your willing to learn. Just keep at it because just like any job you'll struggle at times. Hard work does pay off.
  • Options
    Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    Moved from retail management to IT at the age of 35. Started on helpdesk with a massive paycut. One year later I've achieved CCNA and have moved into a network support role. Currently studying for CCNP with the aim of doubling my salary within 12 months taking me way beyond where I was previously
  • Options
    skswitchskswitch Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Adding to this as well. I'm same age as you and didn't get started in IT field till least 25+. After paying my helpdesk dues and moving up I was able to make a move into the network field. Still got a lot of work to do to hit my goals but least I'm on the right path!

My advise.... Never too late to start anything. You are probably thinking, "I wish I started 5 years ago." but right now you have the chance of avoiding saying that again five years from now.
  • Options
    Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    And another thing to think of......You could have moved into this at 25 and then spent the next 5 years with no clear goals or targets and not having progressed.