Options

Help me decide my next Education step.

PocketLumberjackPocketLumberjack Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all,

Background:
I have been in IT for about 4 years. I started as a cable guy, then I worked Help Desk and got promoted to Workstation Support. I then took a job at a much larger enterprise for a Help Desk position.

I have a Bachelors of University Studies from a State school, it was focused in Geographic Information Systems but I'm not as exited about it as I once was and don't really want to do it for a living.

I have been studying for the CCNA R&S and I have found myself very interested in Network Architecture and Network Security (blue team stuff?).

I will be doing the CCNA CyberOps Scholarship January through March 2018.

With the company I work for I get a lot more money a year to spend on Education than Certs so I am really looking for advice for what WGU programs would help me get in the direction I want to go. I really don't need a lecture about the evils of college, right now I have money and study time and that doesn't happen much in life so I want utilize it.

Career Goals:

Obviously this is subject to change as my career progresses, but if I were to go off of what I am interested in now I would say long term I would really like to be a Network or Security Architect. But I am lucky enough that I am interested almost all things IT.

SO the question is which WGU program is right for me?

https://www.wgu.edu/online_it_degrees/cybersecurity_information_assurance_bachelor_degree
https://www.wgu.edu/online_it_degrees/information_technology_degree_security

OR
https://www.wgu.edu/online_it_degrees/cybersecurity_information_assurance_master_degree

I have been mentally preparing myself for the Masters program and I am leaning that way. I am looking at education as something for myself, I don't expect it to make me a fortune I just love to learn.