Going from Support to System Administrator MCSA certs

mattsaundersmcpmattsaundersmcp Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys

I have been working in IT for about 8 years and I am currently studying for my MCSA Server 2012, I have passed the 70-410 already
I am looking to get out of support and move into a System Administrator role, I have been working with servers in my job for years but not like as in-depth as a system administrator would have.

My question is, will passing some or all the exams help me get a job as a System Administrator? As I have never been a system administrator so in an employers eyes I don't have the experience.

Thanks

Comments

• Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Guess it depends on the employment situation around your area. I personally know two persons who moved on to entry level sys admin roles despite a lack of experience mainly due to their MCSA certifications.
  • mattsaundersmcpmattsaundersmcp Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hey Mike

Thanks for the reply, when you say "MCSA Certifications" is that all three server 2012 exams or one of two of the exams?
  • spongeymspongeym Member Posts: 35 ■□□□□□□□□□
    What does working with servers mean? I've worked with people who use AD on a server and think they are doing server work. What type of tasks are you doing?

Best way I got more experience of working with servers was asking the 3rd line/Infrastructure bod to do their basic tasks, backup schedules, Patching, Group Policy, WDS images etc.
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Full MCSA, i.e. all 3 certs.
  • poolmanjimpoolmanjim Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
    A couple of stories about my experience.