Options

Update 3 Years Later After First IT Post On Forum

oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I thought it would be cool to give an update for all the new IT guys that always post stuff like my original IT post::

[h=2]Career Advice (What route has the best potential)[/h]
Hello, my name is Steve and I entered the IT field 6 months ago. I am a network technician for a local shop in the midwest. We are a small company who helps small business's with their networks and also computer repair. I have just received my A+ cert and soon I will have my Network +. I am very interested in advancing my IT career to the next level and want to pick the route that has the most potential. I am very open to any route in the IT field since I am new I love every aspect of it. So my question is if you were in my shoes, what route do you think would be the most successful for my IT career? I have been considering the virtulization area as well as some "Cloud" certs.

Thanks for your input!

Well let me start by saying I am an IT Manager for a medium size company in CO. This job I referenced I worked at for a little over a year. I decided I was ready to upgrade to a better IT job so I found one in Colorado with a MSP. I worked there for a year and half and hated every day of it. This is where I learned I do NOT like all IT fields :D. Although I hated working for an MSP, I did learn a ton. Working next to 10 different IT guys really catapulted my IT knowledge and I felt like in a year and half I got 3 years of knowledge that a typical IT guy would get at a regular 9-5 job. I encountered failed servers on a regular basis. Learned my way around routers and switches, Windows servers, Cisco, VOIP, and SQL along with all kinds of other branches due to so many customer needs. Grant it is only basic knowledge on all of these I at least got my feet wet.