Options

TE I need your advise!

emekemek Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I need to call upon the collective wisdom of my fellow TE members as I am in a bit of a pickle. I should begin by saying I have been a long time lurker of this forum, and I have spent countless hours scouring the various threads here. The advice and knowledge I have received from the community has been invaluable.

That being said, I need some counsel. I graduated with an MIS type degree from a traditional university back in 2013. My goal then was to start a meaningful career in IT, and have the type of career I could be proud of. On the advice of many threads in this forum, I decided to study for my A+ while still in college so that I could land and entry level position upon graduation. I was lucky, and the A+ helped me to land a work-study position while still in college, doing very basic IT support. I was able to leverage this experience to land a temp position at a big name university, right as I was finishing my 4 year degree. This temp position eventually led to a full time permanent position doing help desk. I was grateful to have this position, even though it was junior. I learned a lot during this time and solidified my desire to have a career in IT. I have since moved on to another position doing tier 2 support (same place).

I am now approaching my 4th year in IT, but I have not had the career growth I had hoped for by this point in my career. I became increasingly unsatisfied with end user support, and really desired to move into what I consider the “real” IT field. (Systems, Networking, Security etc). I busted my behind for the past year and finally got my Cisco CCNA: Routing and Switching. My plan was to someday get into security. However, from my understanding, it is very difficult unless you have already mastered some other subset of the IT field. My hope is that with my CCNA I can begin a career in networking and then transition into security later in my career.