Getting read for Security+, need some advice.

Vask3nVask3n Member Posts: 517
Hey everyone. I would like to start off by saying that this is an amazing site, the exams and technotes are second to none.

With that in mind, I am studying for Security+, I have been doing so for about a week and a half now. Yesterday, I started using flash cards, which have proved very helpful. I am using ExamCram2 Security+, as well as Mike Meyers' Passport for Security+.

However, I am EXTREMELY nervous about the score you need to pass this exam! 764/900 almost seems like you can only miss 4-5 questions, correct me if I am wrong. I am getting about 80-90% on good exams, however I take some exams more than once. If I continue this scheme of studying from the books, taking exams, and utilizing flash cards, would you say I am ready to take the exam in at least a month and a half? Please share your thoughts with me about anything I have posted above, as well as your thoughts on my main question above.

Thank you in advance!
Working on MS-ISA at Western Governor's University

Comments

• jase67jase67 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Vizv,

I too had the Mike Myers Passport book, but after reading through TCAT's guide, I quickly figured out that the Passport was not enough for this test. It's more of a quick reference guide, as it does not go into enough detail about most of the subjects.

I studied for 3 weeks, using TCAT's guide, the Technotes on this site, and going through a couple of practice tests, and passed with an 820 (I hate taking tests). Here's a link where I bought the TCAT guide: www.studyexam4less.com. I'm sure there are other places as well.

I'm not familiar with the ExamCram resources, but they seem to be pretty popular. I believe it really helps to use multiple resources, and the use of flashcards can help tremendously.