Options

Help, I'm not an Expert in Anything For Next Job Search

johnITjohnIT Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have more than three years experience working very basic IT at a non-profit, but I feel like I do not have expertise in any one computer skill-set in order to help me land the next job in my career. Ideally management or systems admin. Now, I admit that I am very picky when searching for jobs here in the tri-state area, but even when I do find a job that I like, I don't hear back.

I probably started applying to new jobs last year. I apply to about 2-3 jobs every 2-3 days. The last interview I got was end of May, and even though I didn't get offered the position I felt I wasn't qualified for it at all. Coding questions for a IT position? Ideally I would love to work at a media company, but even they have specialized software that I have not had the opportunity to work with.

I have slacked on taking the tests and I probably will start studying again soon, despite my pessimistic attitude towards them that they are a waste of time and money. I am a terrible test-taker. I am a visual learner and almost everything I have learned in IT I have taught myself. I do not feel that taking tests are a true measure of a man's worth especially when that man sucks at memorization. I am at the place in my career where I can't teach myself the stuff I'm not even aware of. My degree did barely anything for me except introduce me to programming which I haven't touched in four years. At this point I'm wondering if I should go back to school and do something besides IT.

My professional work experience includes the following:
  • Backups using Acronis, Easeus ToDo, Backup Exec and Veritas 9.1
  • Active Directory/exchange 2013/some powershell but not expert
  • Microsoft word/excel/powerpoint/visio
  • Managed and upgraded various VMware servers using the webclient
  • antivirus administration and firewalls