GWAPT - Tips/Advice?

ZzBloopzZZzBloopzZ Member Posts: 192
Hello TE,

I took the SEC542 course over the summer. Unfortunately, shortly after completing the course had lots of crazy family/life type events. I am now finally able to focus again since early last week. I am listening to the seminar and should be done through it tomorrow. Then I will take my time and go over the material again this time taking notes and creating an index... at a slower more critical pace. I have the exam scheduled for end of the month as I have a work deadline for it, so that is helping with the discipline. I am officially in study zone.

I do web app testing for a living granted I have only been doing it for 3+ months now. We do part manual and part Burp Pro. I am getting nervous for the exam especially since I will not get reimbursed for training until I pass the exam. Someone was telling me the exam is not that difficult but they have been doing web app testing for years. However, I was thinking since it is just a 5 day class of actual material, and it's open book would it really be that hard as long as I put in the work to study the provided material and index?

I plan to take a practice exam end of this week and calibrate on weak areas from there. Do you have any other tips/advice/thoughts on the GWAPT? Anyone have an amazing index I could use as a template or good **** sheets outside of what SANS provides?

Thanks!

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Your practice exam is really going to tell you were you stand of being ready for it or not. Usually if you put the study time in, and build a good index you'll pass. Don't recommend cramming all your studying a week before your exam.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ^^^^ Pretty much!
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS