How do i know if I can handle a HelpDesk job?

How do I know if I can handle a helpdesk job? I have zero job experience. It's been over 2 year since i work on this goal. I been working real hard so i can make IT a career and earn a good living. I started with nothing and now have Comptia A+, N+, Sec+, and CIW site development certification. I work over halfway through WGU IT degree program. I don't even know if i can get a help desk job or even handle it, it seem a little complicating then just get a A+ and get a helpdesk job. The last round that i apply for internships and help desk job I didn't even get an interview. It seem so hard to get a job that now i am thinking of changing career. What do you think?

Comments

• Daneil3144Daneil3144 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You've been here for 2 years and never had a job in the tech world?!

You'll never know if you can handle it, if you never try. You have more certs than me, so why aren't you applying?

I got a help desk job with just an A+, making 40k a year
  • majorpaynemajorpayne Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Comptia certs will help land a Desktop/Helpdesk position. I don't even hold any certifications but working on MCSA/VCP and i am a Jr. Sys Engineer. Like Daneil said before, you wont know until you try. Also regarding your applying, i applied for 100 jobs, got a 10% response rate due to competitiveness over multiple states 10 interviews and 1 offer because of lack of experience just got to keep trying,
  • faintingheartfaintingheart Member Posts: 256
    I didn't try to apply for like 40 jobs last round. I think I have to try harder and keep trying to land a help desk job. So help desk pay 40k starting? When can should i expect 50k? With 50k I can start feeding my family with less stress and ease.
    Thats close to what i make, took me about 3 years of IT experience to get there.