Options

LFCS on 10/19/17

yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
Am I ready?

Well, this is the first cert I've gone for where I have not done a single practice exam. There aren't any in existence for this cert. That's been a strong study strategy in the past--going over what I got wrong on the practice exam until I have it nailed. I lack that confidence-hype I used to rely on before an exam.

I've been using Linux as a daily home user for probably 3 or 4 years now (whenever Windows 8 came out that was it for me. Windows 10 further cemented my resolve). Not much enterprise Linux experience.

To prepare, I've put about 100-150 hours of study and lab time in over the past 6 months. I'd say about 75% labbing and 25% reading. First with the LFS101 on Edx and then with Sander Van Vugt's LFCS videos on Safari Books.

I tried the official LFS201 and find the material to be very college lecture-like and only vaguely covering what ought to be on the exam. Even coop, who seems to be the course author admits that the course designers and the exam designers don't coordinate with each other when they create. WTF?

I also tried Linux Academy but there are far too many syntax inconsistencies and uncorrected straight up errors in their videos for me. I don't get why everyone loves them so much. Maybe just the LFCS track is badly in need of revision. Maybe it's because that's all there is that's somewhat decent for online Linux training, take it or leave it.
I left it.

Perhaps tomorrow will be a success story. Perhaps practice exam #1. We'll find out.
A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
In progress: OSCP

Comments

• Options
    duta74duta74 Member Posts: 143 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I have this one on my cert map for this year. Specifically, I purchased the heavily discounted exam/training bundle last Black Friday. Good luck and let us know how you did.