Options

Certification advice

ktmerrittktmerritt Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all!

I'm fairly new to the IT world :)

I passed my CompTIA A+ last year and have secured a tech-support role which I'm happy with. However, I'm wanting to improve my skill-set. I was going to take Network+ but as a colleague said I might as well go for Cisco CCNA since more employers would recognize this certification and they would teach a lot of the stuff in Network+ anyway..

I have a subscription to CBTNuggets which seems to be a good resource. My questions are:

- What training material would you recommend?
- How much study did you do? What practice exams did you take?
- How easy was it to find a related job after you passed?
- What was your overall experience with the exam? Do you feel it was a good investment?

I'm wanting to eventually get into the design and implementation of networks, as well as security, so any advice on this would be appreciated!

Thank you!
Keith

Comments

• Options
    hunterthuntert Banned Posts: 231
    ccent 100-105 exam cram by Anthony Sequeira and books by Wendel Odom or Todd Lammle. Also there are a lot of courses on Udemy.com
  • Options
    Neil_AndersonNeil_Anderson Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi Keith,

Following on from what huntert said, you can get the highest review rated CCNA course on Udemy for just $10 using this link. It has over 30 hours of HD video tutorials, flash cards and full hands on configuration and troubleshooting lab exercises, and a stellar 4.9 average review rating.

Full disclosure... I'm the trainer :)

HTH,
    Neil
  • Options