Options

Equivalent experience

denis92denis92 Member Posts: 67 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have come across the phrase "equivalent experience" in lieu of degree and I was wondering what constitutes as equivalent experience. If I am applying for a sys admin role that says bachelors or equivalent experience and I have 4 years of work experience at help desk or desktop support would that qualify?

Comments

• Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sure, go ahead and apply for everything you're interested in and reasonably perform. I've never met all the requirements of a position and I think that's very common.
    2018 AWS Solutions Architect - Associate (Apr) 2017 VCAP6-DCV Deploy (Oct) 2016 Storage+ (Jan)
    2015 Start WGU (Feb) Net+ (Feb) Sec+ (Mar) Project+ (Apr) Other WGU (Jun) CCENT (Jul) CCNA (Aug) CCNA Security (Aug) MCP 2012 (Sep) MCSA 2012 (Oct) Linux+ (Nov) Capstone/BS (Nov) VCP6-DCV (Dec) ITILF (Dec)
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Equivalent experience is someone's opinion. No exact answer. Really though, apply to any job you would want to do and think you are able to do. It's not likely an employer will find someone that meets all their requirements. Good luck!
  • Options
    mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Help desk would not really qualify as having sys admin experience unless you are doing a mix of responsibilities and or MCSA.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• Options
    Another question, when a company says Bachelors or Associates but doesn't specify the major does that mean they accept any major, basically just to make sure the person is college educated?
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    denis92 wrote: »