Just told we have to get Security+, no experience or knowledge

craymer41craymer41 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working the same job for 11 years. I started out as Desktop support and three years in, moved up to Sys. Admin., then Sys. Admin. II.

Now, we have been told we have to get Security+ certified by the end of December. Not only that, but they are not sending us to a Comptia 5 day course. Initially they said they were going to have a trainer come to our work and do a 2 day cram course. That alone seemed nuts, but now come to find out that they can't find a trainer that will agree to do it in two days.

That tells me that my employers expectations are ridiculous. I don't think they understand the time it would take to properly study for this test when all many of us have done are Sys. Admin type stuff.

Any advice on where I should start? Does it sound like we are being set up to fail or is there hope? Any study guides that are that good?

Comments

• NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I've read about company's pulling that stuff. It is unrealistic to be ready for that exam in such a short time. I studied for that exam for over six months, while working full time, and barely passed.

I strongly suggest getting Darril Gibson's book and subscribe to his premium website for the actual practice questions. Cybrary has a video course for the Security+. If you're a Veteran or in the reserves, you can access FedVTE, which has a great video course.

Make sure to purchase study material for the same version of the exam you're going to be taking. CompTIA just released the newest version, but the 401 will be available until Summer 2018.

Good Luck!

'My dear you are ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly' Winston Churchil

• boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I recommend the Mike Meyer's books and Udemy course material.