Options

Your MCSA insight is greatly appreciated

zodiarkzodiark Member Posts: 14 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys!

I'm torn between RHCSA and MCSA. I really cant decide what to take between the 2.

I'm a servicedesk tech for 6 years, I've been using AD, sharepoint and other Microsoft products, so pretty familiar with the front end application but I want to learn or work on the back end part of the technology.

At first, I'm eyeing to study MCSA Server 2012, since I'm used to Microsoft, using Microsoft Admin tools, and also have some colleagues who were able to pass MCSA (but with the use of ****, which I myself is against of). So I started studying, half way through one of the video tutorials that I downloaded, I got bored, to the point that I lost interest of continuing to study.

As for Linux, I have not yet used any Linux OS, though I installed Ubuntu, yet I did not use it ever.
Reading and watching some tutorials/ talks/ discussions about Linux, from what I can see, it would take me some time to get used to it specially the bash.

I can say my interest is pointing to Linux due to potential career that I might get out of it and the demand for it.

My question is;
Should I continue to study MCSA since I'm using some MS admin tools?
Should I start learning Linux?
Is it too late to learn Linux?

By the way, I posted this thread on both MCSA and Linux thread to have insights from users who uses each technology.

Comments

• Options
    PseudonymPseudonym Member Posts: 341 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do both.
    Certifications - A+, Net+, Sec+, Linux+, ITIL v3, MCITP:EDST/EDA, CCNA R&S/Cyber Ops, MCSA:2008/2012, MCSE:CP&I, RHCSA
    Working on - RHCE
  • Options
    doubleodoubleo Member Posts: 27 ■■□□□□□□□□
    After 6 years of using AD and other Microsoft stuff you're pretty much ready for your MCSA. Getting certified will be easy for you.

Start learning Linux too it's never too late.
    2018 goals: CCNA
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□