Options

Nebwie looking for support and guidance...

bluewarlord8bluewarlord8 Member Posts: 74 ■■■□□□□□□□
Greetings all,

I am in my early 20's and I have very little knowledge on computing/IT. I am currently at a educational institute and preparing for my Comptia A+ (which I should take within the month or so). Prior to this, I've had a taster of Cisco Intro to routing and switching, a play around with Kali Linux - pen testing and Linux OS's. I want to become a Network Engineer some day.

I have a rough idea of what I would like to do (I would like to know the view of fellow members to guide me onto what would be best for me, taking into consideration of my age and time)..

I wish to complete,

Comptia: A+, Network + (Possible Sec+ if time permits).

Microsoft: MCP.

Cisco: CCNA Routing and Switching.

Once I have the A+ I would look for an IT helpdesk or tech job so that I can get extra brownie points with employers to show that I have work experience.

That is my rough plan of what I'd like to achieve within the next 9 months.

Please provide honest input on what you think of my plan and how I could possibly improve it or if you could provide me with any recommendations.

On a side note; I know many people say that there is no point to an A+ certificate, but as I am young, I believe I need a flashy resume and every little bit helps for me to get that dream job.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to all of your replies.

Regards.
Certs: CompTIA A+, MTA: Server Admin, CCST - Networking & Azure Fundamentals.

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    That sounds very similar to what my plan looked like and it has worked out well for me so far. I skipped the Microsoft stuff and I definitely didn't need it. I also don't regret starting with the A+.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options