Managing summer Intern

Z0sickxZ0sickx Member Posts: 180 ■■■□□□□□□□
we had a brainstorm at work the other day on how to make an internship meaningful and resume builder for our future summer intern but came to the conclusion of a couple of things.

1) Likely won't have any new tools to be built/engineered
2) the toolset we have in our environment for the most part are running and we could teach the intern how to use it, but not exactly resume builder either besides knowing how to use it

so my question to everyone is how would you provide meaningful experience for a summer intern (unpaid), ideally they would lead a project with supervision but thats not a likelyhood to happen. as a former intern my myself even my good internships we would be sitting around goofing off a lot but we want to minimize that. any/all ideas welcomed.

Comments

• pirlo21pirlo21 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'd let him take help desk tickets like hardware/software troubleshooting, run ethernet cables, setup printers, etc. It depends how tech savvy the intern is, some just don't know anything.
  • ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Z0sickx wrote: »
    we had a brainstorm at work the other day on how to make an internship meaningful and resume builder for our future summer intern but came to the conclusion of a couple of things.

1) Likely won't have any new tools to be built/engineered
    2) the toolset we have in our environment for the most part are running and we could teach the intern how to use it, but not exactly resume builder either besides knowing how to use it

so my question to everyone is how would you provide meaningful experience for a summer intern (unpaid), ideally they would lead a project with supervision but thats not a likelyhood to happen. as a former intern my myself even my good internships we would be sitting around goofing off a lot but we want to minimize that. any/all ideas welcomed.