Should I get my a+?

poetayetoepoetayetoe Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have my net+ and my security+ and I'm studying for my CASP. Is it worth getting my a+?
Thanks!

Comments

• soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Short answer: No

Caveat: unless you have no IT experience or are trying to transition into IT and are applying to entry level IT helpdesk or IT support type positions.
    Certs: CISSP, CISA, PMP
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Do have IT experience right now? Do you understand the topics that are on the A+?

If you answer yes to those I would say no.
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    only if you want help desk positions. Are you working now?
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • davec8080davec8080 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
    poetayetoe wrote: »
    I have my net+ and my security+ and I'm studying for my CASP. Is it worth getting my a+?
    Thanks!

I've seen billions of job listings requiring Security+. While I haven't seen any that required Network+, I have seen a few listings that say Network+ is desirable. I have seen a few jobs listings stating that A+ is required. I'm not talking about entry level jobs, either.

If you are wondering whether to get A+...

Just go job hunting at indeed, monster, usajobs, etc. Find jobs that you really would like to work. See if they mention A+
  • eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Basically what everyone else is suggesting:

Yes if you have 0 IT exp or are not currently in an IT role

No if you are in IT and are looking to move a head.

The A+ will get your resume through the resume filters for Desktop Support/Helpdesk type jobs.
  • versoleversole Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    no man, you should aim for cisco ccna
  • IronmanXIronmanX Member Posts: 323 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have over 13 years in IT.