Options

Is it possible to get an IT job with associate's degree in U.S.?

memocansmemocans Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I have 5+ years experience as Oracle/SQL Server DBA but I only have associate's degree in computer programming from a college in Turkey. I applied for more than 200 jobs but couldn't get any interviews. In the meantime, I applied for WGU Data Management/Data Analytics program and willing to complete it in 2 terms.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    Yes, it has been so difficult for US business in some industries and geographical areas to find qualified IT people that they have lowered the required degree to an AA/AS rather than a BA/BS. The job postings will indicate what is the minimal degree that is required.
  • Options
    volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,053 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Assuming your resume/experience is legitimate; and assuming you don't require some type of sponsorship...

Try 'Americanizing' your name on your resume.

Drop the reference to your 'Turkish' degree.

Me thinks you will you suddenly start getting phone calls...
  • Options
    N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    An IT job in general? Yes, I got into Help Desk with an Associate's.

As for what you're trying to apply to, maybe listing the position you're applying for might help.
    OSCP
    MCSE: Core Infrastructure
    MCSA: Windows Server 2016
    CompTIA A+ | Network+ | Security+ CE
  • Options
    memocansmemocans Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    JDMurray wrote: »
    Yes, it has been so difficult for US business in some industries and geographical areas to find qualified IT people that they have lowered the required degree to an AA/AS rather than a BA/BS. The job postings will indicate what is the minimal degree that is required.