Passed my CISSP exam this morning

snowchick7669snowchick7669 Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I haven’t posted for a while on here, but thought I’d drop a note regarding my CISSP exam as I found this thread very helpful over the past few months. The exam was a tough one and I was super relieved when I got my “Congratulations” after 100 questions. I did think I was failing like a few others have mentioned and I was only really comfortable with 5-8 questions out of the 100. It really does test your ability to apply the concepts/fundamentals and think logically with the business always in the back of your mind.

I used the process of elimination for the answers and made sure I understood what they were actually asking and also that I could explain why the other answers were wrong and why I thought the one I’d chosen was right.

I’ve been working directly within Info Sec for 3 years and I’m currently an IT Security Officer (I found my experience definitely was helpful). I started studying back in September, but only really knuckled down around the middle of January due to personal/work chaos getting in the way last year.

Resources:

Sybex book (read once cover to cover and then reviewed some areas I struggled with). Would definitely recommend and if I had time I would have read this again.

11th hour book (read once a few days before my exam). Again, I would have read it again if possible.

Watched the Cybrary videos. Highly recommend this and I would probably watch in tandem with the chapters you’re doing in the book to really gel everything together.

Sunflower PDF. Used this a few days before the exam and ensured I could verbally explain all of the terms as I was reading through.

6 day boot camp. I used this as more of a refresher and I honestly don’t think it’s required if you have a solid study plan. Only did this because Work paid for it.

Larry Greenblat 2018 exam tips. Would recommend watching this video

Practice Questions: