Options

PASSED 1st attempt. Forum Creeper.

gerardbgerardb Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody. I just wanted to share that I passed the CISSP on my first attempt last Friday. I like visiting to forum to read about everyone's successes and wanted to contribute and share my own.

I would say that the exam is a very tricky tricky little b. You must read the questions entirely and then read them again to understand what is being asked. Half of the question may have something to do with the answer but may not be the best answer. Always choose the BEST answer. Follow the rules and advice towards understanding the canons and choosing solutions based on those priorities.

I studied for about 2 months, a few hours most nights, no weekend study.

I used:
Mike Chapple, Lynda.com
Kelly Handerhan, AUDIO only Cybrary in the car
11th Hour CISSP, the week of the test, 30-50 pages skimmed each night
CISSP for Dummies - random wildcard draws opening the book and reading a few snippets of that page (not used much)
Larry Greenblat CISSP video course... I got through about day 2.5 and then skimmed the rest of the videos. I think that abstraction of thought in his videos and teaching is very helpful.

Practice tests: None

Career Experience:
10+ years network engineer/technician

Education:
MS Applied Information Technology
MBA Cybersecurity

Certifications:
SSCP 2016
Security+ 2017
Network+ 2004

I completed the test with 70 minutes to spare. My test ended at 100 questions. I was certain to wear my athleisure wear, vision glasses and to me most importantly ear muffs. I also stayed in a hotel 5 minutes from the test site the night before and took the test at 11AM.

Comments

• Options
    PersianImmortalPersianImmortal Member Posts: 124 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congratulations!!! And with only 2 months of study, well done!!
  • Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□