Options

ISO 27001 Lead Implementer certification after CISSP

messirossimessirossi Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, Need some advice if getting ISO 27001 LI certified would be a good idea or not. I work as a network security engineer and have the CISSP cert along with a bunch of vendor certs. I want to make a move up to an InfoSec consultant role. Could someone please advice me if the LI certification would be a good addition or maybe I should do the 27001 LA first ? Also does it make any sense to do the certification without having the experience of audits. Would be paying around 850 USD for the ISO 27001 4 day training + certification. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Skyyyyy2001Skyyyyy2001 Member Posts: 57 ■■■□□□□□□□
    it's fine if you have no audit experience, in fact, you will learn a lot to see things from an auditing point of view. the rest of the lesson you will learn about the standard and the points to look out for from the standard and the relevant controls that need to be in place.

all in all, it's a good learning course icon_lol.gif
  • Options
    Info_Sec_WannabeInfo_Sec_Wannabe Member Posts: 428 ■■■■□□□□□□
    In the ISO 27001 LA course that I took (training provider was BSI), the instructor focused the discussion mostly on clauses 4 through 10 (how these clauses should be interpreted and how it is intertwined with the other clauses) and on the audit process per ISO 19011 (high level only since the intent is to audit management systems). Overall, the class was good, but I was hoping that the course would also touch briefly on Annex A controls and how these should be audited or checked for compliance.

Hope this helps.
    X year plan: (20XX) OSCP [ ], CCSP [ ]
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■