Options

Applying for Jobs internationally is hell

FadakartelFadakartel Member Posts: 144
Hey guys,

Has anyone tried to apply for IT jobs outside of their country?

I live in the Caribbean and applying for jobs anywhere (except Canada but you need to go via the express entry route) Is very hard I`ve used HAYS recruitment, indeed, DICE, Linkedin everything but no one seems to want to give VISA sponsorship sigh.

My background is a network engineer with about 4 years experience in ISP.

Comments

• Options
    LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    LOL welcome to the world. I'm in a very similar situation, I've been wanting to work in GCC countries and as you point out, companies are less willing, or less able, to sponsor work visas. I've been told to my face on more than one occasion that I was more than qualified and if I didn't need to be sponsored the job would be mine. These same employers also complain the lack of skilled workers to fill jobs, unsurprisingly.
    I've even contacted by employers in Europe who hoped I wouldn't need a work permit because they like my background. One even said to me that if I was an unskilled welfare-draining immigrant, I would have a far easier time getting legal residence in Europe than a degreed experience professional.

Ordinarily one of the best ways to get an international job is to be assigned there by a multinational company. If one is employed by, just using an example, Cisco, it becomes far easier for Cisco to then assign that employee to Europe or Asia, than for Cisco to sponsor the same employee.

All I can suggest is be persistent, always be going over your CV, and look for examples of accomplishments that made a positive impact at your work. Even better if you can quantify the impact. At the least, you stand out as someone who gets things done, and not in the sea of CVs that simply cut and paste the job description.
  • Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,231 ■■■■■■■■■■