Options

MBA advice

Z0sickxZ0sickx Member Posts: 180 ■■■□□□□□□□
So looking for some Guidance/others experience, as i am try to get more from the community about adding an MBA to my Resume. Right now i'm purely Technical with Sec+|CASP| CISSP|CEH| and aiming for my last cert overall OSCP. pairing that technical knowledge to bring to management would be a rare combination (unless i'm wrong). the MBA programs i was pointed to would be UVA cohort program and NYU (haven't checked the exact program yet), and GWU.

With all that said I have some experience leading a project and going through with our Project management office on getting the details of rollout, requirements, performance readiness, etc. the UVA program would be 50k total and the GWU one would be around 60k. I have the money to afford both and would do this part time

my motivation for getting an MBA: its New Mountain to climb, higher potential salary ceiling, right now for my career path i'll be capped out around 150k. I am also kinda tired of being the frontline "grunt" and prefer to do the ordering

Goal for MBA: use it to become CISO

why i'm asking for advice: I'm 31 years old and i'm somewhat "stuck" what i want to do with myself career wise and now is a good time to start pivoting and laying a path to something grander. I guess whats holding me back is is it the right time to start? I've only managed a team of 2 people so i don't think that really counts, and have 0 experience managing a whole project at a macro level, mostly just the micro for me. Or are there other things i could be doing prior to going for MBA.

i hope what i wrote was clear and somewhat concise

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□