Options

WGU Bachelors: CyberSecurity/Information Assurance... Anyone done it? Worth it?

digitalcreepshowdigitalcreepshow Member Posts: 14 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

Anyone doing or have done the BSCSIA (Cybersecurity) program at WGU? I really want to start making headway into getting into this field and came across this program. I was hoping some of you not only had input on the degree program at this school but also could give me your two cents on my situation. A little bit about me and my particular situation:

1. I already have a Bachelor of Science from a good school in Business Management.
2. I already have a job in IT as a Systems Analyst (fairly good job)- with one year of experience so far.
3. I want to gain knowledge and experience to work into a Cybersecurity analyst role/information security analyst role.
4. I am studying for Net+ currently, when I am done I will move onto Sec+ and then go for something higher up.

It seems depending on who I talk to, I get different opinions about my specific case and the best approach for me. On one hand, I have real world job experience in real IT (scripting, database management, technical report writing, meeting with and explaining IT to upper management/board of directors, etc...) and could probably just get certs on my own and move into a cyber analyst role at some point. While I do not have a ton of cybersecurity related duties right now, a lot of what I do would be similar in fashion to a cyber analyst role. On the other hand, with my bachelors that I already have, I checked out WGU and it would only take me about 8 months to complete the entire degree, which includes a bunch of certs (some good, some are OK but nothing to scream about).

My main two questions are:

1. Do you recommend the cyber program (or any IT program) at WGU? Did you have good success with it? Did it help you land a job, get promoted, etc...? Also, how was the school itself and your experience with it day in and day out.