After much deliberation, it's an MSc for me!

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
In 2011, I studied Digital Forensics for 3 years with security modules included in the course. I ended up working in digital security after graduating. After starting work in the industry, I began saving up for a house with the girlfriend who I had just got engaged to. A long story short, we were together for 7 years when she one day (Feb, 201icon_cool.gif blocked me on everything. Facebook, phone number. Everything. I begged via email for an answer. 7 years i'd been with her, what was going on? 4 months passed and i'd heard nothing. I sent one more email. She replied and told me she'd met someone new. Hell, I didn't know she was even looking for someone new. We were engaged! Needless to say, I was depressed. I couldn't motivate myself to fry an egg, never-mind study.

Anyway, my workplace made me do the SY0-401 Security+. And *thankfully*, my study-bug has returned. I asked my workplace if they'd fund the CEH v10 but they aren't really big fans of the CEH, so after much thought, i've decided to take on a 3 year part-time masters course at a university. I'll be working full-time alongside it, but I believe that during this time, I can achieve 3 things: A) Get a promotion (or two) , B) Get a salary increase and C) Get a master's degree in 3 years time which has been a personal goal for a while.

I'll check this thread in 3 years when i've got the MSc and I hope that the bad thoughts of how she treated me is just a distant memory and i'll have achieved a lot since then. So I guess this thread is a selfish one really. It's for me to look back on in future and see how far i've got.

Thanks for reading if anyone does icon_smile.gif

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Sorry to hear about the break up. I've been following your threads since you started posting and didn't know about that, hope things are looking up for you

What kind of MSc ?